Getting rid of [almost] everything I own.

Since I’m leaving to travel through Asia for 5 months, I’m getting rid of basically everything. This is proving to be a lot harder than I thought. I have SO. MUCH. STUFF.

You don’t realize it until you go to get rid of it. Then, every bag of miscellaneous buttons, every spool of thread, every extra envelope and tumbler stands out. Why do I have so many spools of white thread? Was I planning to make my own mosquito net?!

I put together a list of questions to ask myself when confronting something that’s headed to the misfit toys island.

File_000

When we’re talking about spools of thread, this isn’t so hard. I have 10 of them. I only need one, plus, they are cheap and easy to replace. Down the list and check, check, check. No emotional attachment to thread.

When it comes to clothing, this is a bit harder because certain ‘looks’ aren’t as easily replaceable, or some were gifts, but I’m expecting to come back with new tastes anyway – and probably skinnier from having literally sweat my ass off.

Where I’m really struggling is when it comes to things with a strong emotional attachment. Letters from my mom and friends. Gifts that were given to me. I feel guilty getting rid of this stuff.

Why do I feel guilty or scared to get rid of these items?

Regret, well, fear of regret I think. When my mom dies, I think I’m going to want those letters. When I’m missing my best friend I’m going to find joy in that necklace she bought me.

I’ve managed to come to a compromise- or at least a way of justifying getting rid of things without the guilt. I’m struggling with things that have a personal attachment. I know that the givers of these items would want me to be happy – even if that means selling the items so I can travel longer. My mother even gave me explicit permission to sell anything she’s ever got me. Thanks mom!

I’m going to keep those letters though.

I’m having a yard sale to both make some money and get rid of some of my extra things!

UPDATE: The yard sale went better than I could have hoped! I made almost $500. I worked hard to get the word out by putting ads up on craigslist, flyers around town, yard sale websites, etc. We had a great turnout, thank you to everyone who volunteered to help with the sale!

Now I can focus on what I need to live on for the next 6 months….

What type of things do you struggle to get rid of? Did you overcome it? 

If you’d like to join me on the adventure,

You can find me on social media:

Or, sign up for my email list using the subscription button on the sidebarwelcome!

xoxo ❤

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Getting rid of [almost] everything I own.

  1. Pingback: My Itenirary for 5 months in Southeast Asia. – zoomgoes

  2. Pingback: My Itinerary for 5 months in Southeast Asia. - Zoom Goes

  3. Pingback: The real truth about my budget for 5 months in Asia. – zoomgoes

  4. Pingback: The real truth about my budget for 5 months in Asia. – Zoom Goes

  5. Pingback: I am strong. I am brave. I am broken. All at the same time. – Zoom Goes

  6. Pingback: The real truth about my budget for 5 months in Asia. - Zoom Goes

Leave a Reply

